top of page

An experiment with words

Can a computer tell a story?

That was what I set out to discover. What if a computer was given rules for writing and I used my own good taste to edit zher work?

Using a set of words derived from a common source, like machiavelli, milton or Cardi B. I divided the verbs and nouns and made a sentence structure. Then I randomized the lookup function and let the computer write thousands of sentences. I parsed the sentences and ordered them such that they tell a story.

You can be the judge on quality. For me the insights on Trump WEB Du Bois and others made me appreciate the power of language. You might say hell yeah, you might say f no. Let me know in the comments below.

If you want to try this experiment yourself, follow this link to the excel file. You can make your own Cardi B Haiku.

and if you want to see what the output looks like click here:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page